Short News 22/10/2013

Short news 22/10/2013

Thank you for your continued prayers for this ministry.

Preparation for my series of sermons on the Book of Acts has been a blessing to me personally. To see that the Lord Jesus Christ continues His saving work through us as the church gave me new enthusiasm for the work. The mission of the church is missions – as Oswald J. Smith puts it. Now Acts 1:8 makes more sense than ever, the power of the Holy Spirit is to make us witnesses of Christ in the whole world. If you’re going to obey the call, then you need the power. If you’re not going to obey the call, you don’t need the power.

The Ministry

On Friday 18 October I had to drive to the post office, because I couldn’t carry all the envelopes. I usually walk there.  I had 320 letters with Bible study courses to mail. That is how fast the ministry is growing. The new envelopes we opened this week also have many new names. Praise the Lord for the 8 persons who indicated that they have received the Lord Jesus Christ as Saviour in the lessons we marked in September.

It is not always possible for the volunteers to help us with work. We still need more help.

The preaching at the church is going well. I am gaining more confidence in speaking in English. The working of the Holy Spirit in the preparation and delivery of each sermon is a blessing to experience. May I never do anything in my own power.

World Wide Bible Institute (WWBI): we have our first student for this Bible School level course. It is a 3 year Bible School diploma course that Source of Light has developed. It will be a lot of work for me and our student, Marcel van In.

The Bible studies requested by Fred de Waal in Botswana have been delivered in Pretoria for him to pick up.

Testimonies:

From Namibia: “I thank you for the free Bible Study program. It has changed my life forever. I believe that Jesus is my Lord and Personal Saviour I am a born again believer. Pray for me to have a strong faith in order to lead people to Christ. I want to be a soul winner.”

 

A request from prison: “I am very interested in your Bible studies because I am thirsty for God’s Word. I see that this course can help me to know Jesus and become born again. Before I came to this place I was a horrible sinner. I ended up committing murder. Now I realize that with your help I will get back to the right path. So please, can you enter me in your studies?”

Please pray for:

  1. Wisdom and strength in the bigger workload.
  2. The continued salvation of souls.
  3. That the lessons will be put to good use in Botswana.
  4. The Holy Spirit’s guidance in the preparation of sermons.
  5. For continued help with the ministry.
  6. For the new ministry with the World Wide Bible Institute.

In His service,

Fanie Buys

Source of Light Ministries – South Africa

Leave a comment